Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) Part Time

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) Part Time next start date Next start date: 24 July 2023
2 October 2023
Next Orientation Date: 17 July 2023
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) Part Time study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Claremont
Cape Town - Tyger Valley
Durban (Umhlanga)
East London
Mbombela (Nelspruit)
Nelson Mandela Bay

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) Part Time duration Duration:
Part-Time (Campus)
Minimum: 2.5 years
Maximum:   5 years
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) Part Time support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 5 | Technology | Part Time Study | SAQA ID 102780

More information:

Entry requirements
•     South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.

•     A National Certificate (Vocational) level 4 issued by the Council of General and Further Education and Training with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.

A Certificate of evaluation on a minimum NQF level 4 for foreign qualification confirmed by SAQA.

•     A letter or certificate confirming an exemption from Universities South Africa (USAf) for any other school-leaving results.

•    Completion of a Bachelor’s degree, Diploma, Higher Certificate or equivalent.
From R40 200 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.
Possible career options
The career choices for you as a Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) graduate include junior positions in:
•          Support Specialist
•          Desktop Support Analyst
•          Help Desk Technician
•          Computer Technician
•          Network Administration
•          Network Analyst
•          Network Support Specialist
•          Systems Administrator
•          IT Auditor, Security Specialist
•          Security Engineer, Security Administrator
•          PenTest+ (Penetration Testing)
-    Penetration Tester, Security Analyst  -  Vulnerability Assessment Analyst  -  Network Security Operations  -  CySA+ (Cyber Security Analysis)
-    Cyber Security Analyst, Vulnerability Analyst -    Threat Intelligence Analyst, Security Engineer -    IT Security Analyst, SOC Analyst
-    CASP+ (Advanced Security Practitioner)
-    Security Architect, Technical Lead Analyst
-    Application Security Engineer
This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Claremont, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Durban (Umhlanga), East London, Midrand, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark

All Campuses

International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
•          Computer Literacy (Microsoft)
•          Personal Skills Development
•          A+
•          Network+
•          Security+
•          Linux Operating Systems
•          Linux Administration
•          Wireless Networks and Security
•          PenTest+ (Penetration Testing)
•          CySA+ (Cyber Security Analysis)
•          CASP+ (Advanced Security Practitioner)
•          Final - Information Systems (Cyber Security)