Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Programme overview:

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science next start date Next start date: 2 October 2023
21 February 2024
Next Orientation Date: 26 September 2023
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science study mode Campuses:

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science duration Duration:
Minimum: 3 years
Maximum: 5 years
Bachelor of Science in Computer Science support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 7 | Technology | Degree | SAQA ID 74131

The BSc (Computer Science) is a broad and intensive qualification that prepares you for work in a range of IT jobs in the rapidly changing industries of computer science, software and Information Systems (IS).

You will gain in-depth theoretical knowledge as well as practical experience in the core areas of computer science such as information systems, database design, software development, programming, mathematics, algorithm design and project management. You will also develop practical skills with an emphasis on using, designing and managing operating systems, creating and maintain databases, and software programming and development. Within these subject areas, you will also cover topics such as human-computer interaction, internet technology, e-commerce and the ethical and security considerations needed by IT professionals.

More information:

Entry requirements
• You need a South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor degree entry or an equivalent foreign secondary qualification on an NSC level with Bachelor degree entry approved by Universities South Africa (USAF).
• If you have an international school-leaving certificate, you need to provide a certificate of exemption issued by Universities South Africa (USAF).
• You should have successfully completed the relevant Eduvos foundation programme. On successful completion of the foundation programme, students are required to apply to Universities South Africa (USAF) for a certificate of exemption in order to be admitted to a degree programme.
• You should have successfully completed a relevant higher certificate qualification. On successful completion of the higher certificate, students are required to apply to Universities South Africa (USAF) for a certificate of exemption in order to be admitted to a degree programme.


• You need 32 or more Eduvos points.
• You need 50% or above for Grade 12 English.
• You need 50% or above for Grade 12 Mathematics.
• The points attained for the best two of the subjects of English, Mathematics and Computer Science must be doubled.
From R63 600 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.
Programme accreditation
• The programme is accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE)
• This programme is recorded by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
• This programme is accredited by the Information Technology Association (ITA)
Possible career options
Passionate about twenty-first century technology? The careers for you, as a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science graduate, are varied and include: Database administration IT management Network administration
This qualification is offered at the following campuses



International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure