Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) - Campus Full Time

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) next start date Next start date: 30 September 2024
21 February 2025
15 May 2025
Next New Students Orientation Date:
24 September 2024
Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) study mode Study Mode:
Campus Full Time
Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Mowbray
Cape Town - Tyger Valley
Durban (Umhlanga)
East London
Mbombela (Nelspruit)
Nelson Mandela Bay

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) duration Duration:
Minimum: 1 year
Maximum: 3 years
Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 5 | Technology | Higher Certificate | Degree: Higher Certificate in Computing | Saqa Id: 120669
This Higher Certificate in Computing specialises in Computer Systems Architecture. Designed to present the fundamentals of computer systems architecture, incorporating the intertwined hardware and software components and subsystems. These essential components facilitate the input, processing, and output of data within a computer system. 
This qualification aims to widen access to higher education and boost career prospects in the rapidly evolving field of information technology (IT). Encompassing a broad range of topics, including Central Processing Units (CPUs), memory systems, input and output devices, Arithmetic Logic Unit (ALU) operations, and programme execution. Explore the concepts of operating systems, hardware management and computer networks together with the practical skills needed to diagnose, troubleshoot, and maintain computer systems taking the security of these systems into consideration. 

More information:

Entry requirements
  • South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.                
  • Or a National Certificate (Vocational) level 4 issued by the Council of General and Further Education and Training with  Bachelor’s degree, Diploma Or Higher Certificate endorsement.                                          
  • Or a Certificate of evaluation on a minimum NQF level 4 for foreign qualification confirmed by SAQA.                        
  • Or a letter or certificate confirming an exemption from Universities South Africa (USAf) for any other School leaving results.               
  • Or a Completion of a Bachelor’s degree, Diploma, Higher Certificate or equivalent.  
From R42 600 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.  

Eduvos offers flexible payment options

Programme accreditation
Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE).Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
Possible career options
Possible career options   
  • Database Developer, IT Project Manager 
  • Network Administrator, Network Engineer, Network Analyst 
  • Security Engineer, Information Security Analyst, Penetration Tester 
  • Computer Systems Architect, Computer Hardware Engineer 
  • Data Analyst, Python Programmer 
  • Software Developer, Software Development Project Manager 
  • Web Designer, Web Developer 
  • IT Strategist/Consultant, Information Systems Manager 
This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Mowbray, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Durban (Umhlanga), East London, Midrand, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark

International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
This is an outline of the modules for this qualification per level.

Data for intake starting: 30 September 2024

    Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer Systems Architecture) - Campus Full Time
    Admission Fee (ADMIN4-B00) - Admission
    Networking (ITNKA0-B44) - Core
    Programming Fundamentals (ITPMA0-B44) - Core
    Database Design and Development (ITDBA0-B11) - Core
    Security (ITSTA0-B11) - Core
    Mathematics for Computing (ITMCA0-B22) - Core
    Professional Practice (ITPOA0-B22) - Core
    Managing a Successful Computing Project (ITSCA0-B33) - Core
    Computer Systems Architecture (ITCSA0-B33) - Core