Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security)

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) next start date Next start date: 24 May 2021
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) study mode Study mode: Full-time and online part-time options
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) duration Duration:
Minimum: 1 year full time and 2.5 years part-time.
Maximum: 3 years (full-time) and 5 years (part-time)
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) support Support: Fully supported
Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) learning type Learning type: Mastery of Learning Metholody or Lecture Based Learning

Programme details:

NQF Level 5 | Technology | Higher Certificate

The fourth industrial revolution also referred to as industry 4.0 is a new phase in the industrial revolution that also focuses heavily on Cyber Security. Information technology security (also known as Cyber Security) is the protection of computer systems, networks, programs and data from unauthorized access or attacks that are aimed for exploitation. It also includes activities to protect the usability, reliability, integrity and safety of the network.

The Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) is a career focused qualification that is intensive but also broad. It provides you with the fundamental and technical knowledge as well as the applicable skill set in Computer Hardware, Networking Technologies, Security, Penetration Testing, Cyber Security Analysis and Advanced Security Practices.

MLM - Students can start any week of the month during January and February.
Thereafter, the first Monday of each month for the remainder of the year.

LBL – To be Completed in one year. 
Block 1 - February
Block 2 - April
Block 3 - July
Block 4 - September

More information:

Entry requirements
• National Senior Certificate (NSC) with diploma or Higher Certificate entry or an equivalent foreign secondary qualification or international schoolleaving certificate on an NSC level (NQF 4) confirmed by SAQA.
• National Certificate (Vocational) level four issued by the Council of General, Further Education, and Training.
• You must have obtained the required results in the Placement Assessment.
  Year 1 Year 2 Year 3
Annual Price Tier 1 R 63500 R 0 R 0
Annual Price Tier 2 R 75000 R 0 R 0
Monthly Price Tier 1 R 5792 R 0 R 0
Monthly Price Tier 2 R 6840 R 0 R 0
  Annual Monthly
Part Time Modular R 0 R 0
Part Time Upfront R 0 R 0

Tier 1 Campuses: Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Claremont, East London, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Vanderbijlpark

Tier 2 Campuses: Midrand, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Pretoria, Bedfordview, Durban

Programme accreditation
• Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE)
• South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)
Possible career options
The career choices for you as a Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) graduate include junior positions in:
• A+ Preparation
• Support Specialist, Desktop Support Analyst
• Help Desk Technician, Computer Technician
• Network+ Preparation
• Network Administration, Network Analyst
• Network Support Specialist
• Systems Administrator
• Security+ Preparation
• IT Auditor, Security Specialist
• Security Engineer, Security Administrator
• Penetration Testing
• Penetration Tester, Security Analyst
• Vulnerability Assessment Analyst
• Network Security Operations
• Cyber Security Analysis
• Cyber Security Analyst, Vulnerability Analyst
• Threat Intelligence Analyst, Security Engineer
• IT Security Analyst, SOC Analyst
• Advanced Security Practices
• Security Architect, Technical Lead Analyst
• Application Security Engineer
This qualification is offered at the following campuses
Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Claremont, Durban, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, East London, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark
Qualification structure
Year 1
• Computer Literacy (Microsoft)
• Personal Skills Development
• A+ Preparation
• Network+ Preparation
• Security+ Preparation
• Penetration Testing
• Cyber Security Analysis
• Advanced Security Practitioner
• Final - Information Systems (Cyber Security)