Higher Certificate in Art and Design - Campus Full Time

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Art and Design next start date Next start date: 30 September 2024
21 February 2025
15 May 2025
Next New Students Orientation Date:
24 September 2024
Higher Certificate in Art and Design study mode Study Mode:
Campus Full Time
Higher Certificate in Art and Design study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Tyger Valley

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Higher Certificate in Art and Design duration Duration:
Minimum: 3 Years
Maximum: 5 Years
Higher Certificate in Art and Design support Support: Fully Supported

Programme details:

NQF 5 | Humanities and Arts | Higher Certificate | Degree: Higher Certificate in Art and Design | Saqa Id: 121378
The Higher Certificate in Art and Design invites you to embark on an inspiring journey through the vibrant and ever-evolving world of the creative industries. Emphasis is placed on cultivating transferable skills such as effective teamwork, independent initiative, organisational competence, and problem-solving strategies. Students develop the ability to adapt and stay flexible in their approach to graphic design and related fields, showcasing their resilience under pressure and achieving ambitious goals within set boundaries. This qualification inspires creativity, pushing students to excel and innovate in a dynamic environment.

More information:

Entry requirements
  • South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.
  • Or a National Certificate (Vocational) level 4 issued by the Council of General and Further Education and Training with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.
  • Or a Certificate of evaluation on a minimum NQF level 4 for foreign qualification confirmed by SAQA.
  • Or a letter or certificate confirming an exemption from Universities South Africa (USAf) for any other school-leaving results.
  • Or completion of a Bachelor’s degree, Diploma, Higher Certificate, or equivalent 
From R42,600 (based on full upfront settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information on monthly payments.

Eduvos offers flexible payment options

Programme accreditation

Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE)

Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)

Eduvos is a member of DEFSA:

The Design Education Forum of Southern Africa (DEFSA) is a professional organisation of design educators spanning most design disciplines such as industrial, graphic, interior, clothing, ceramic, textile, jewellery, as well as commercially focused photography. The forum consists of design educators and practitioners furthering their interests and promoting excellence in design education.

DEFSA is a recognised design educator body (www.defsa.org.za) for educator purposes. It provides a conference platform to publish research and includes moderators for specialist design subjects. 

Possible career options

Animation, Branding, Digital Design, Graphic Design, Illustration, Marketing and Advertising, Marketing Communication, Multimedia Art, Photography, User Interface (UI) and User Experience (UX) Design, Web Development 

This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Midrand, Pretoria

International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
This is an outline of the modules for this qualification per level.

Data for intake starting: 30 September 2024