Higher Certificate in Computing (GameCraft and Development) - Campus Full Time

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Computing (GameCraft and Development) next start date Next start date: 30 September 2024
21 February 2025
15 May 2025
Next New Students Orientation Date:
24 September 2024
Higher Certificate in Computing (GameCraft and Development) study mode Study Mode:
Campus Full Time
Higher Certificate in Computing (GameCraft and Development) study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Mowbray
Cape Town - Tyger Valley
Durban (Umhlanga)
East London
Mbombela (Nelspruit)
Nelson Mandela Bay

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered

Programme details:

NQF Level 5 | Technology | Higher Certificate | Degree: Higher Certificate in Computing | Saqa Id: 120669
This Higher Certificate in Computing specialises in GameCraft and Development. Designed for students to learn the fundamentals of game design, game development and programming.  
This qualification aims to widen access to higher education and boost career prospects in the rapidly evolving field of information technology (IT). Students will examine game mechanics, gameplay, level design, narrative, and user experience in order to design an engaging video game. It includes the development of game concepts, design documents, and prototyping. In addition, students will analyse and assess existing games to determine the success or failure of their designs.  
Providing a robust foundational understanding of the key concepts in computing, ensuring students gain proficiency in a comprehensive core of essential skills. The programme structure is designed to align with current industry needs and global IT trends, thereby ensuring the skills acquired are relevant and in demand. 

More information:

Entry requirements
  • South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.                          
  • Or a National Certificate (Vocational) level 4 issued by the Council of General and Further Education and Training with  Bachelor’s degree, Diploma or Higher Certificate endorsement.                                          
  • Or a Certificate of evaluation on a minimum NQF level 4 for foreign qualification confirmed by SAQA.      
  • Or a letter or certificate confirming an exemption from Universities South Africa (USAf) for any other School leaving results.                                   
  • Or a Completion of a Bachelor’s degree, Diploma, Higher Certificate or equivalent.
From R60 000 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.  

Eduvos offers flexible payment options

Programme accreditation
  •  Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE).  
  •  Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).  
Possible career options
  • Database Developer, IT Project Manager 
  • Game Developer, Game Programmer 
  • Network Administrator, Network Engineer 
  • Python Programmer, Game Designer 
  • Security Engineer, Information Security Analyst
This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Mowbray, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Durban (Umhlanga), East London, Midrand, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark

International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
This is an outline of the modules for this qualification per level.

Data for intake starting: 30 September 2024