Higher Certificate in Computing (Computer System Architechture) - Online Full Time

Programme overview:

Higher Certificate in Computing Full Time After Hours next start date Next start date: 12 February 2024
14 May 2024
23 July 2024
1 October 2024
Next New Students Orientation Date:
12 February 2024
Returning Students Start Date:
5 February 2024
Higher Certificate in Computing Full Time After Hours study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Mowbray
Cape Town - Tyger Valley
Durban (Umhlanga)
East London
Mbombela (Nelspruit)
Nelson Mandela Bay

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Higher Certificate in Computing Full Time After Hours duration Duration:
Minimum: 1 year
Maximum: 3 years
Higher Certificate in Computing Full Time After Hours support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 5 | Technology | Full Time After Hours | Degree: Higher Certificate in Computing | Saqa Id: 120669

The Higher Certificate in Computing is an intensive, career-focused qualification designed to give students a solid background in computing and its real-world applications. This qualification aims to widen access to higher education and boost career prospects in the rapidly evolving field of information technology (IT). This qualification provides a robust foundational understanding of the key concepts in computing, ensuring students gain proficiency in a comprehensive core of essential skills.

The programme structure is designed to align with current industry needs and global IT trends, thereby ensuring the skills acquired are relevant and in-demand. The emphasis on performance-based learning and performance-based assessments is a distinguishing feature of this programme. These allow students to demonstrate their practical skills and competencies, providing tangible evidence of their abilities to prospective employers. Students will graduate with not only the theoretical knowledge required to understand the complex world of IT but also the practical skills to apply this knowledge effectively. Students who complete the qualification will be able to demonstrate problem-solving, critical thinking, and analytical reasoning skills, as well as be prepared to enter the workforce in a variety of IT roles or advance to more specialised IT programmes or bachelor's degrees in related fields.

More information:

Entry requirements
• National Senior Certificate (NSC) holders with Higher Certificate, Diploma or Bachelor Degree entry.
• An international school-leaving certificate accompanied by SAQA certificate of equivalence confirming NQF level 4.
From R40 200 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.

Eduvos offers flexible payment options

Programme accreditation
Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE). Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).
Possible career options
Careers for you, as a Higher Certificate in Computing graduate, are varied and include:
• Database Developer, IT Project Manager
• Network Administrator, Network Engineer, NetworkAnalyst
• Security Engineer, Information Security Analyst, Penetration Tester
• Computer Systems Architect, Computer Hardware Engineer
• Data Analyst, Python Programmer
• Software Developer, Software Development Project Manager
• Web Designer, Web Developer
• IT Strategist/Consultant, Information Systems Manager
This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Mowbray, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Durban (Umhlanga), East London, Midrand, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark


International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
This is an outline of the modules for this qualification per level.

Data for intake starting: 12 February 2024