Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Part Time)

Programme overview:

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Part Time) next start date Next start date: 24 July 2023
2 October 2023
Next Orientation Date: 17 July 2023
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Part Time) study mode Campuses:

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Part Time) duration Duration: Minimum:
Bachelor of Science in Information Technology (Part Time) support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 7 | Technology | Part Time Study
This programme is in the Information Technology industry that are related to Robotics and Control Engineering. Robotics is a branch of Information Technology that involves the conception, design, manufacture, and operation of robots. It primarily deals with the design, construction, operation, and use of robots, as well as computer systems for their control, sensory feedback, and information processing. Students will be taught the mechanics, planning and control of robots. They will also learn how to build and control autonomous robots using Python and Raspberry pi. This qualification is channelled toward students that are ready to use the above technologies for the development of machines that can substitute for humans and replicate human actions. You will also develop essential skills for the world of work, such as analytical and abstract thinking, effective decision-making, self-discipline, being innovative, adapting to change, working in teams and communicating effectively.

More information:

Entry requirements
National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor degree entry or an equivalent international school-leaving certificate on an NSC level with Bachelor degree entry approved by Universities South Africa (USAF). 50% or above for Grade 12 Mathematics. Students with Mathematics Literacy (50% or more) must enrol for Introduction to Mathematics and Mathematics for Degree Studies B (IT) before attempting Mathematics 1A. Students with Pure Mathematics (less than 50%) where the minimum mark required is 30% must enrol for Mathematics for Degree Studies B (IT) before attempting Mathematics 1A. Or Alternatively, a prospective student should have successfully completed a relevant Higher Certificate qualification. On successful completion of the higher certificate, students are required to apply to Universities South Africa (USAF) for a certificate of exemption in order to be admitted to a degree programme.
Price: From R60 000 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.
Programme accreditation
• Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE) of South Africa.
• Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA).
Possible career options
Pretoria Bedfordview Durbanville East London Nelspruit Durban Potchefstroom Cape Town Vanderbijlpark Port Elizabeth Bloemfontein
This qualification is offered at the following campuses



International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure