Bachelor of Arts (Media Studies)

Programme overview:

Bachelor of Arts (Media Studies) next start date Next start date: 15 May 2023
26 July 2023
10 October 2023
21 February 2024
Next Orientation Date: 8 May 2023
Bachelor of Arts (Media Studies) study mode Campuses:
Cape Town - Claremont
Cape Town - Tyger Valley
East London
Mbombela (Nelspruit)
Nelson Mandela Bay

Remote and distant students join a campus where the programme is offered
Bachelor of Arts (Media Studies) duration Duration:
3 years
5 years
Full-time only
Bachelor of Arts (Media Studies) support Support: Fully supported

Programme details:

NQF Level 7 | Humanities and Arts | Degree | SAQA ID 62761

More information:

Entry requirements
• You need a South African National Senior Certificate (NSC) with Bachelor degree entry or an international school-leaving certificate equivalent to NQF level 4. Exemption certificate to be provided.
• If you have an international school-leaving certificate, you need to provide a certificate of exemption issued by Universities South Africa (USAf).
• You should have successfully completed the relevant Eduvos or any other approved foundation programme. On successful completion of the foundation programme, students are required to apply to Universities South Africa (USAf) for a certificate of exemption in order to be admitted to a degree programme.
• You should have successfully completed a relevant higher certificate qualification.
• You need 25 or more Eduvos points.
• You need 50% or above for Grade 12 English.
From R63 600 per year (based on full settlement payment option) - excluding hardware/software requirements. Please consult the fee structure for additional information.
Programme accreditation
• Accredited by the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Higher Education (CHE).
• Registered with the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)..
Possible career options
This media studies degree is very broad, and it prepares you for many different career options, including:
• Advertising account executive
• Broadcast journalist
• Editorial assistant
• Event manager
• Film director
• Magazine journalist
• Market researcher
• Marketing executive
• Media researcher
• Photographer
• Writer
• Digital marketer
• Media buyer
• Media planner
• Media researcher
• Public relations practitioner
• Runner, broadcasting/film/video
• Social media manager
• Television/film/video producer
• Web content manage
This qualification is offered at the following campuses

Bedfordview, Bloemfontein, Cape Town - Claremont, Cape Town - Tyger Valley, Durban, East London, Midrand, Mbombela (Nelspruit), Nelson Mandela Bay, Potchefstroom, Pretoria, Vanderbijlpark

• Midrand
• Nelson Mandela Bay
• Pretoria
• Tyger Valley
• Vanderbijlpark
• Bedfordview
• Bloemfontein
• Claremont
• Durban
• East London
• Mbombela

International students

International students are welcome to apply for this programme.

For international student requirements please kindly check International Students Admissions

Calling all students from Angola, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Colombia, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Dominica, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Qualification structure
Year 1
• Media Studies1A 
• Media Studies 1B
• Introduction to Critical Reasoning
• Introduction to Digital Journalism


Choose a minimum of 60 credits from the list below, one of which must
include a major which will be carried over to 2nd year and 3rd year.

• Business English
• History 1
• Journalism Writing 1A
• Journalism Writing 1B
• Political Science 1A
• Political Science 1B
• English Literature Studies 1A
• English Literature Studies 1B
• Linguistic 1A
• Linguistic 1B
• Public Relations 1A
• Public Relations 1B
• Broadcast Journalism 1A
• Broadcast Journalism 1B
• Communication Science 1A
• Communication Science 1B
Year 2
• Media Studies 2A 
• Media Studies 2B 
• Applied Ethics
• Introduction to Research

Choose a minimum of 70 credits from the list below, one of which must include a major from first year and second year which will be carried over to third year.
• Sesotho Language 
• Introduction to Photo Journalism
• Introduction to Data Analysis
• Isizulu Language 
• Introduction to Coding for Humanities
• Journalism Writing 2A
• Journalism Writing 2B
• Political Science 2A
• Political Science 2B
• English Literature Studies 2A
• English Literature Studies 2B
• Linguistic 2A
• Linguistic 2B
• Public Relations 2A
• Public Relations 2B
• Broadcast Journalism 2A
• Broadcast Journalism 2B
• Communication Science 2A
• Communication Science 2B
Year 3
• Media Studies 3A 
• Media Studies 3B 
• Work Integrated Learning
• Research Methodology
• Media Law
• Research Project


Choose a minimum of 30 credits from the list below, one of which must include a major chosen from first and second year

• Journalism Writing 3A
• Journalism Writing 3B
• Political Science 3A
• Political Science 3B
• English Literature Studies 3A
• English Literature Studies 3B
• Linguistic 3A
• Linguistic 3B
• Public Relations 3A
• Public Relations 3B
• Broadcast Journalism 3A
• Broadcast Journalism 3B
• Communication Science 3A
• Communication Science 3B